54°FOvercastFull Forecast
Choose your race:
Candidate Questionnaires:

Board members draw numbers to restagger terms

WOODSTOCK – Twelve “lucky” members of the newly elected McHenry County Board will have to run again in 2014.

All 24 members of the County Board were up for election this year because of redistricting after the 2010 U.S. Census. And Monday, all 24 of them had to draw from a fishbowl held by County Clerk Katherine Schultz to re-stagger the terms so that half of them are running in any given November election.

Members drew by four-member district to ensure that the two- and four-year terms are divided equally. Those who drew full four-year terms postponed their bad luck a decade, provided they keep winning re-election – they will have to run in 2020 and again in 2022 with the next decennial redistricting.

The board’s two-seat Democratic minority – Paula Yensen and Nick Chirikos – suffered a setback in that both are up again in 2014. Yensen won re-election and Chirikos won a first term, keeping the two-seat minority after Democratic incumbent Kathleen Bergan Schmidt lost her re-election bid.

Term lengths by district:

District 1: Robert Nowak, R-Cary, and Chirikos, D-Algonquin (two-year terms); Anna May Miller, R-Cary, and Yvonne Barnes, R-Cary (four-year terms).

District 2: Donna Kurtz, R-Crystal Lake, and James Heisler, R-Crystal Lake (two-year terms); Carolyn Schofield, R-Crystal Lake, and Ken Koehler, R-Crystal Lake (four-year terms).

District 3: Mary McClellan, R-Holiday Hills, and Joe Gottemoller, R-Crystal Lake (two-year terms); Nick Provenzano, R-McHenry, and Michael Walkup, R-Crystal Lake (four-year terms).

District 4: Sandra Fay Salgado, R-McHenry, and John Hammerand, R-Wonder Lake (two-year terms); Sue Draffkorn, R-Wonder Lake, and Robert Martens Sr., R-Spring Grove (four-year terms).

District 5: John Jung, R-Woodstock, and Yensen, D-Lake in the Hills (two-year terms); Michael Skala, R-Huntley, and Tina Hill, R-Woodstock (four-year terms).

District 6: Michele Aavang, R-Woodstock, and Ersel Schuster, R-Woodstock (two-year terms); Diane Evertsen, R-Harvard, and Mary McCann, R-Woodstock (four-year terms).

Voters on Nov. 6 also elected all 59 members of the Illinois Senate under redistricting, which also split McHenry County between two new congressional districts. The new General Assembly maps divide McHenry County among three Illinois Senate and five Illinois House districts.


Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Northwest Herald.


Reader Poll

Do you know anyone who has been affected by opioid abuse?