43°FOvercastFull Forecast

DePaul, other nonfootball schools to leave Big East

DePaul forward Moses Morgan (from left), guard Brandon Young and center Derrell Robertson Jr. smile as they watch teammates play against Milwaukee on Sunday in Rosemont. DePaul and the Big East's other non-football schools are breaking away from the conference. (AP Photo/Nam Y. Huh)

NEW YORK – A person familiar with the decision tells The Associated Press the conference's seven nonfootball members have decided to break away from the Big East.

The person spoke on the condition of anonymity Thursday night because some officials from those schools are still sorting through details and trying to figure how best to separate from the conference. No official announcement is imminent.

The seven schools that do not play FBS level football are DePaul, St. John's, Georgetown, Marquette, Seton Hall, Providence and Villanova. Officials at those schools have concerns about the direction of the conference and feel as if they have little power to influence it.

Commissioner Mike Aresco conferred by phone with the leaders of those seven schools earlier in the day, according to another person familiar with the situation, also speaking on the condition of anonymity.

• AP Sports Writer Dan Gelston in Philadelphia contributed to this report.


Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Northwest Herald.

Copyright 2017 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Reader Poll

How often do you visit Chicago?
Several times a week
Once a week
Several times a year
A few times a year