A Few Clouds
31°FA Few CloudsFull Forecast

Sun-Times Media Group to close suburban offices

Sun-Times Media Group plans closing the offices of all suburban publications and consolidating news editing and production units into downtown headquarters.

"We are too small to continue to function as completely separate entities, especially as our resources have been sharply reduced over the past few years," Sun-Times Media Group editor-in-chief Jim Kirk told staff Thursday, according to TimeOut Chicago magazine columnist Robert Feder.

The Sun-Times Media Group includes 32 Pioneer weekly newspapers, and daily newspapers, including the Courier News in Elgin, the Beacon-News in Aurora, the Naperville Sun, the Herald-News in Joliet, the Lake County News-Sun in Gurnee, the Southtown Star in Tinley Park, and the Post-Tribune in Merrillville, Ind.


Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Northwest Herald.


Reader Poll

What local races interest you most in the April 4 election?
Mayor/village president
City council/village board
School board