47FOvercastFull Forecast

Nine making bid for MCC board

By CHELSEA McDOUGALL - cmcdougall@shawmedia.com

CRYSTAL LAKE – It will be a nine-way race for three seats on the McHenry County College Board of Trustees, which is made up of mostly newcomers.

Trustees Carol Larson and Barbara Walters are both seeking another six-year term. Trustees Dennis Adams had not filed by Wednesday, the last day to file petitions for the April 9 Consolidated Election.

Newcomers Erik Sivertsen of McHenry, Thomas Wilbeck of Lakewood, Chris Jenner of Cary, Molly Walsh of Crystal Lake, William Scott Alford of Wonder Lake, Mike Smith of Lakewood and Arne Waltmire of McHenry also submitted petitions.

Because Larson, Smith and Waltmire filed their petitions at 8 a.m. Dec. 17, they have been entered in a lottery to determine their placement on the ballot.

The lottery is set for 10 a.m. Wednesday in the president’s office, Room A-233, at the college, 8900 Route 14, Crystal Lake.

Objections to any candidate’s petition may be filed from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on business days between Wednesday and Jan. 8 in the president’s office.

For information, call Pat Kriegermeier, office of the president, at 815-455-8726 or email her at pkriegermeier@mchenry.edu.


Note: The story that appeared in the Thursday, Dec. 27 print edition did not name all nine candidates. The Northwest Herald regrets this error.


Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Northwest Herald.


Reader Poll

How often do you drink bottled water?