Snow Blowing Snow Freezing Fog
21°FSnow Blowing Snow Freezing FogFull Forecast

Police chiefs group to name Officer of the Year

Published: Saturday, Jan. 12, 2013 5:30 a.m. CST

WOODSTOCK – McHenry County’s officer of the year will be named tonight from among eight nominees:

Officer Amy Bucci, Algonquin police; Officers Kathy Eiring and Jason Williamson, Cary police; Detective Joe Willard, Huntley police; Officer Jason Draftz, Lake in the Hills police; Detectives Craig Esperance and Jennifer Garafol, McHenry County Sheriff’s Office; and Detective George Kopulos, Woodstock police.

The second annual award by the McHenry County Chiefs of Police Association will be made at the Bull Valley Gulf Club.

Last year, the award went to Woodstock police Officer Adam Schraw, who saved a 9-month-old’s life by clearing a hair clip that was obstructing the baby’s airway.

– Northwest Herald

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Northwest Herald.

Reader Poll

If you had only one day to live, what would you do with it?
Learn to play the piano
Take up ice sculpting
Learn to speak French
Win over the love of a small town