44°FOvercastFull Forecast

Sharapova wins Indian Wells title over Wozniacki

Published: Sunday, March 17, 2013 4:52 p.m. CDT
(Mark J. Terrill)
Maria Sharapova serves Sunday against Caroline Wozniacki during the championship match of the BNP Paribas Open in Indian Wells, Calif. Sharapova won, 6-2, 6-2.

INDIAN WELLS, Calif. – Maria Sharapova defeated Caroline Wozniacki 6-2, 6-2 to win her first title of the year at the BNP Paribas Open on Sunday in a final between two former top-ranked players.

Sharapova dictated from the opening game, when she broke Wozniacki at love with groundstrokes that had the Dane running from side to side. Sharapova faced just two break points on her serve in the nearly 1½-hour match.

It was Sharapova's second career title at Indian Wells, where she first won in 2006. Wozniacki won here in 2011. The women met in a final for the first time; their six other matches came in earlier rounds.

The Russian is projected to rise one spot in the WTA Tour rankings to No. 2 on Monday, dropping Victoria Azarenka to third.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Northwest Herald.

Reader Poll

How often do you drink bottled water?