Crystal Lake City Council incumbents keep seats

CRYSTAL LAKE – Three incumbents will return to their seats on the City Council.

Longtime council members Ralph Dawson and Jeff Thorsen, along with relative newcomer Cameron Hubbard, ousted two challengers, James Tomasello and Charles Ebann.

Hubbard was appointed in November to fill a vacant council seat.

According to unofficial vote totals, Thorsen received the most votes at 1,841, followed by Dawson’s 1,808 votes and Hubbard’s 1,798.

Tomasello, with 1,394 votes, was edged out by the incumbents.

Ebann garnered 987 votes.

Ebann and Tomasello hoped to be a new voice in local politics, while the others relied on their years of experience.

Both Thorsen and Dawson have said they want to continue the momentum of filling the city’s vacant space in their next terms.

– Chelsea McDougall