Johnsburg village president incumbent wins

JOHNSBURG – Maggie Haney isn't done challenging the status quo in Johnsburg, but she is done in her recent bid for village president.

Incumbent Village President Ed Hettermann defeated Haney on Tuesday evening 895 to 427 votes, according to preliminary numbers, which do not include provisional and late absentee ballots.

"I don't think [the bid] was unsuccessful," Haney said. "The village of Johnsburg knows. ... I fought for the people of Johnsburg. I believe in the trustees, but I'm sorry for the people of Johnsburg who have to deal with a corrupt government."

Hettermann did not return a call for comment Tuesday evening.

Haney has worked to make the village clerk an elected position and raised concerns about missing checks, late fees, and checks being issued without board approval.

At a March Village Board meeting, Haney said village administration was either guilty of "being inept or a coverup.”

The following day the village issued a news release, authorized by Hettermann, that said the allegations were in retaliation for an ongoing lawsuit between Haney and her husband, Frank, and the village of Johnsburg over a piece of disputed property.

A McHenry County judge dismissed the lawsuit in the fall, but the village appealed, seeking financial sanctions against the Haneys.

Trustee Ron Zanko, who has sided with Haney in her disputes with the village, also was ousted Tuesday. He criticized Hettermann over the release, calling it “malicious” and a “misuse of village media.”

Hettermann said the release was issued in the interests of transparency since Haney had made "serious allegations" against the village.

His fellow incumbents, Kevin McEvoy and John Huemann, were successful in their re-election bids. Greg Klemstein, who serves on the village's Development and Government Affairs Committee, was the third candidate to win a seat on the Village Board.

Zanko received 556 votes in comparison with Klemstein's 765, McEvoy's 942 and Huemann's 978.

The three other trustees were not up this year. The terms of Trustees Rich Janusz, Mary Lou Hutchinson and Janice Sisk expire in 2015.

Loading more

Digital Access

Digital Access
Access nwherald.com from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more! News you use every day! Daily, weekend and Sunday packages.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! Get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Plan your weekend and catch up on the news with our newsletters.