Mostly Cloudy
30°FMostly CloudyFull Forecast

D-C announced new Hall of Fame class

Published: Wednesday, May 1, 2013 9:15 p.m. CDT

Dundee-Crown athletic director Dick Storm announced Wednesday night the 2013 induction class to the Dundee-Crown High School Hall of Fame.

Melissa Tarrant Haugens, Roger Warren, Chris Jensen, Kevin Kepp and Mike Steinhaus are the five members who will be inducted early next school year.

Haugens, a 2001 D=C graduate, was the Fox Valley Conference's leading scorer in girls basketball in 2001 and led the Chargers to two Class AA regional championships. She also played volleyball, where she was a two-year varsity starter.

Haugens played basketball at NCAA Division I Youngstown State and now teaches math at Hampshire.

Warren, a coach at Crown and D-C from 1978 through 1986, became a member of the PGA Tour in 1990 and was the president of the Kiawah Island (S.C.) Golf Resort, which hosted the 2012 PGA Tour Championship.

Jensen, a 1978 Dundee graduate, played football, basketball, baseball and golf during his high school career. He was the team MVP in 1978 and went to Harper College to play football and baseball, where he earned All-Conference honors in both sports. He is a member of Lake Forest College's Hall of Fame as a football player and was drafted by the USFL's Michigan Panthers. He also signed with the Bears in 1984.

Kepp, a 1981 Crown graduate, played golf, basketball and baseball and was regarded as one of the best players ever in the FVC. He also started two years as the Vikings' shortstop in baseball. He currently is managing director of Southwest Asset Management in Gilbert, Az.

Steinhaus, a 2002 D-C graduate, played football, basketball and baseball for the Chargers and attended Ball State on a football scholarship. He teaches physical education and coaches at D-C.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Northwest Herald.

Reader Poll

Have you ever taken classes at a community college?