Mostly Cloudy
73°FMostly CloudyFull Forecast

Toews named finalist for Selke Trophy

After being snubbed for one trophy, Blackhawks captain Jonathan Toews could collect another.

Toews was named Wednesday as a finalist for the Frank J. Selke Trophy, which is given to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game. He is one of three finalists along with Pavel Datsyuk of the Detroit Red Wings and Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins.

Although Toews was overlooked as a possible finalist for the Hart Trophy, which is given to the league's most valuable player, the Selke Trophy is a respected prize. Previous Hawks players who have won the award include Dirk Graham (1991) and Troy Murray (1986).

Toews was a finalist for the Selke Trophy in 2011 but finished second in the voting. This season, Toews tied for the league lead with 56 takeaways to go along with 48 points.

The winner of the Selke Trophy will be announced during the Stanley Cup Final.

-Tom Musick



About the Author

Follow this blog:

Get updates from this blog when they happen by following it on Twitter or using its RSS feed.

Reader Poll

What do you think of Illinois' current gun laws?
Too restrictive
Not restrictive enough
About right