Chicago Blackhawks

Blackhawks' Jonathan Toews wins Selke Trophy

CHICAGO – Jonathan Toews might need a bigger trophy case.

Toews, who already owns a Stanley Cup ring, a Conn Smythe Trophy and an Olympic gold medal, learned Friday that he won his first Frank J. Selke Trophy as the NHL’s best defensive forward. The other finalists for the award were Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins and Pavel Datsyuk of the Detroit Red Wings.

Toews, 25, has established himself as a two-way forward during six NHL seasons. This season was one of his best as he shared the league lead with 56 takeaways, led the Western Conference with a 59.9 percent faceoff percentage, ranked third in the league with a plus-28 rating and finished second on the Hawks with 48 points (23 G, 25 A).

Previous Hawks players to win the award include Troy Murray (1986) and Dirk Graham (1991). Toews nearly joined that group two years ago but finished second in the voting to Vancouver Canucks forward Ryan Kesler at the end of the 2010-11 season.

During the playoffs, Toews ranks second in the league with 16 takeaways to go along with one goal and eight assists. He also has a plus-4 rating while averaging nearly 21 minutes of ice time per game.

No such luck: Despite leading the Hawks to a record-setting season, Joel Quenneville finished as the runner-up for the Jack Adams Award as the league’s top coach.

Ottawa Senators coach Paul MacLean won the award for guiding his team to the playoffs despite a glut of injuries. MacLean finished with 28 first-place votes and 206 points overall, while Quenneville was second with 22 first-place votes and 160 points overall.

Quenneville led the Hawks to an NHL-best 36-7-5 during the regular season. He won the Jack Adams Award in 1999-2000 as the coach of the St. Louis Blues.

Orval Tessier remains the only coach to win the award with the Hawks. He led the team to a 47-23-10 record during the 1982-83 season.

No such luck, part II: Hawks forward Patrick Kane finished as the runner-up for the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, which is given to the player judged to have the best combination of skill and sportsmanship.

Tampa Bay Lightning forward Martin St. Louis won the award for the third time in the past four seasons. He received 47 first-place votes and 824 points overall, while Kane received 44 first-place votes and 785 points overall.

Stan Mikita, who won the Lady Byng in 1967 and 1968, is the last Hawks player to win the award. Bobby Hull won the award with the Hawks in 1965.

Hawks bits: Several more awards will be announced Saturday, including the Hart Memorial Trophy for most valuable player and the Calder Memorial Trophy for rookie of the year. Hawks forward Brandon Saad is a candidate to win the Calder along with Brendan Gallagher of the Montreal Canadiens and Jonathan Huberdeau of the Florida Panthers.

Loading more

Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more! News you use every day! Daily, weekend and Sunday packages.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! Get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Plan your weekend and catch up on the news with our newsletters.