Rain Fog/Mist
42°FRain Fog/MistFull Forecast

More petitions drawn for McHenry County offices in March elections

Published: Saturday, Sept. 14, 2013 11:06 p.m. CDT

WOODSTOCK – At least one McHenry County Board district is on track to have a contested GOP primary, despite losing an incumbent who decided to run for county clerk instead.

Former County Board member Mary Donner and District 47 school board member Nancy Gonsiorek have pulled petitions this week to run as Republicans in District 3, which covers Nunda, southeastern McHenry and northeastern Algonquin townships. If attorney Sarah Jansen decides to join the race – she pulled a petition last week but is not sure about running – the three challengers and incumbent Joe Gottemoller, R-Crystal Lake, will run in the March 18 primary for two open seats.

District 3 representative Mary McClellan, R-Holiday Hills, who was just elected last year, is one of at least three candidates running for county clerk after longtime Clerk Katherine Schultz announced she would not seek a seventh term. She is running against fellow County Board member Nick Provenzano, R-McHenry, and county clerk employee Keith Addison of Hebron.

Donner represented District 3 from 2006 until 2012, when she lost by 49 votes in the primary to McClellan.

In District 1, Barrington Hills Village Trustee Elaine Ramesh pulled a petition, as did Andrew Gasser, Fox River Grove blogger and president of a tea party group that helps advise congressmen on space policy. The District 1 board members up for election next year are Republican Robert Nowak and Democratic member Nick Chirikos.

County voters next year will elect one U.S. senator, their representatives in the Illinois and U.S. houses of representatives, all statewide constitutional offices, the offices of county treasurer, county clerk, sheriff and regional school superintendent, and 12 of the County Board’s 24 members.

Three of the four current countywide office-holders whose terms expire next year – Schultz, Treasurer Bill LeFew and Sheriff Keith Nygren – are not seeking re-election. The three Republicans have a combined 55 years in office. All three primaries now are contested.

Voters in the 33rd Senate District will elect their state senator – Sen. Karen McConnaughay, R-St. Charles, drew a two-year term after the 2012 election in the wake of redistricting after the 2010 U.S. Census.

Voters in the 65th House District will elect a new representative – Rep. Tim Schmitz, R-Batavia, announced Friday morning that he would not be seeking re-election. The district, a new addition to McHenry County under redistricting, includes only a sliver of the county, stretching from Huntley and Sun City south through Elgin to Batavia.

Voters in the March primary will weigh in on a binding referendum asking whether the County Board chairman should be popularly elected, as is done in most other collar counties.

The filing period for petitions is from Nov. 25 through Dec. 2.

Previous Page|1|2|Next Page

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Northwest Herald.

Reader Poll

What TV game show would you like to be on?
"The Price is Right"
"Wheel of Fortune"
"Family Feud"
"The Newlywed Game"