Mostly Cloudy
22°FMostly CloudyFull Forecast

Quinn declares 7 Ill. counties as disaster areas

Published: Monday, Nov. 18, 2013 7:32 a.m. CDT

SPRINGFIELD — Illinois Gov. Pat Quinn is declaring seven Illinois counties as disaster areas after massive storms packing funnel clouds ripped through the state.

The governor's office says Monday that the declaration area covers Champaign, Grundy, LaSalle, Massac, Tazewell, Washington and Woodford counties.

Sunday's storms killed at least six people and injured dozens of others, while damaging and destroying hundreds of businesses and cutting power to tens of thousands of residents.

The disaster designation is aimed at making it easier for state resources to help hard-hit communities.

Quinn's office says technical rescue teams have been dispatched across Illinois. He's set to tour storm damage on Monday.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Northwest Herald.

Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Reader Poll

Should public universities in Illinois be allowed to pay commencement speakers with public funds?
No opinion