54°FFog/MistFull Forecast

Five local players receive All-State football honors

Published: Thursday, Nov. 21, 2013 7:59 p.m. CST • Updated: Thursday, Nov. 21, 2013 7:59 p.m. CST
Jacobs quarterback Bret Mooney was one of four local players to receive All-State football honors from the Illinois High School Football Coaches Association. Mooney made the 18-player Class 7A team. Photo by Sarah Nader.

Jacobs quarterback Bret Mooney, who helped the Golden Eagles to their first conference title since 1979, was named to the Illinois High School Football Coaches Association Class 7A All-State team released Thursday.

Mooney directed a potent offense for Jacobs, which won its last seven regular-season games to win the Fox Valley Conference Valley Division title outright.

Mooney (6-foot-4, 210 pounds) completed 59.2 percent of his passes (144 for 243) for 1,877 yards, 17 touchdowns and eight interceptions.

Other area players named to their respective teams were Prairie Ridge lineman Shane Evans and Cary-Grove lineman Trevor Ruhland in Class 6A, and Harvard tight end-linebacker Tate Miller and Richmond-Burton offensive lineman Bryce Wagner in Class 4A.

Evans (6-4, 300) committed to Northern Illinois University and was a four-year varsity starter for the Wolves. He became a two-way player this season and helped Prairie Ridge (7-5) to five consecutive wins and a Class 6A playoff quarterfinal appearance.

Ruhland (6-5, 265) has several NCAA Division I offers after his second season as a varsity starter. C-G finished 7-4 with a lineup of mainly juniors and sophomores and was Valley Division runner-up to Jacobs.

Miller (6-2, 215) was a two-way standout for the Hornets, who were 11-1 and set the school record for victories. Wagner (6-7, 335) was a force on the offensive line for the Rockets' running game.

In the title game: One local football officiating crew received word this week it would call the Class 3A state championship game next Friday at Huskie Stadium in DeKalb.

Jerry Eiserman (McHenry), John Widmayer (Woodstock), Pete Merkel (McHenry), Al Jackson (Woodstock) and Jeff Brice (Gilberts) will work the game. Eiserman and Widmayer have worked three previous state title games, while Jackson has worked one. This will be the first championship games for Merkel and Brice.

“The last time Jerry and I did a final as in 1990,” Widmayer said. “Under the old rule, we didn’t get them anymore, but it changed, fortunately for us. We feel very fortunate, it’s like a second wind for us.”

Another local official on a different crew, Cary’s Dave Butz, will work the Class 5A championship game on Saturday.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Northwest Herald.

Reader Poll

Have you ever lost a loved one to suicide?