Mostly Cloudy
44°FMostly CloudyFull Forecast

How lawmakers voted on military sexual assault

Published: Thursday, March 6, 2014 7:07 p.m. CDT • Updated: Thursday, March 6, 2014 7:08 p.m. CDT

The 55-45 roll call Thursday by which the Senate blocked a bill to strip senior military commanders of their authority over whether alleged cases of sexual assault in the uniform services are prosecuted. Supporters of the bill needed 60 votes under Senate rules to prevail, they got only 55. A "yes" vote is a vote in support of the measure.

Illinois' senators were split on the measure. Dick Durbin, a Democrat, voted "yes." Mark Kirk, a Republican, voted "no."

Voting yes were 43 Democrats, 11 Republicans and 1 independent.

Voting no were 10 Democrats, 34 Republicans and 1 independent.

Democrats Yes

Baldwin, Wis.; Begich, Alaska; Bennet, Colo.; Blumenthal, Conn.; Booker, N.J.; Boxer, Calif.; Brown, Ohio; Cantwell, Wash.; Cardin, Md.; Casey, Pa.; Coons, Del.; Donnelly, Ind.; Durbin, Ill.; Feinstein, Calif.; Franken, Minn.; Gillibrand, N.Y.; Hagan, N.C.; Harkin, Iowa; Heinrich, N.M.; Heitkamp, N.D.; Hirono, Hawaii; Johnson, S.D.; Klobuchar, Minn.; Landrieu, La.; Leahy, Vt.; Markey, Mass.; Menendez, N.J.; Merkley, Ore.; Mikulski, Md.; Murphy, Conn.; Murray, Wash.; Pryor, Ark.; Reid, Nev.; Rockefeller, W.V.; Schatz, Hawaii; Schumer, N.Y.; Shaheen, N.H.; Stabenow, Mich.; Udall, Colo.; Udall, N.M.; Walsh, Mont.; Warren, Mass.; Wyden, Ore.

Democrats No

Carper, Del.; Kaine, Va.; Levin, Mich.; Manchin, W.V.; McCaskill, Mo.; Nelson, Fla.; Reed, R.I.; Tester, Mont.; Warner, Va.; Whitehouse, R.I.

Republicans Yes

Collins, Maine; Cruz, Texas; Enzi, Wyo.; Grassley, Iowa; Heller, Nev.; Johanns, Neb.; McConnell, Ky.; Moran, Kan.; Murkowski, Alaska; Paul, Ky.; Vitter, La.

Republicans No

Alexander, Tenn.; Ayotte, N.H.; Barrasso, Wyo.; Blunt, Mo.; Boozman, Ark.; Burr, N.C.; Chambliss, Ga.; Coats, Ind.; Coburn, Okla.; Cochran, Miss.; Corker, Tenn.; Cornyn, Texas; Crapo, Idaho; Fischer, Neb.; Flake, Ariz.; Graham, S.C.; Hatch, Utah; Hoeven, N.D.; Inhofe, Okla.; Isakson, Ga.; Johnson, Wis.; Kirk, Ill.; Lee, Utah; McCain, Ariz.; Portman, Ohio; Risch, Idaho; Roberts, Kan.; Rubio, Fla.; Scott, S.C.; Sessions, Ala.; Shelby, Ala.; Thune, S.D.; Toomey, Pa.; Wicker, Miss.

Independents Yes

Sanders, Vt.

Independents No

King, Maine.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Northwest Herald.

Copyright 2017 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Reader Poll

Have you ever been the victim of hacking?